The Old Round Church, was built in 1812-13 under the direction of local craftsman William Rhodes to be the Town Meeting Hall and place of worship for members of five Protestant denominations.
The unique structure, now known as the historic Round Church in Richmond, was constructed in 1812 - 1814. The need for a meeting house, and a multi-denominational house of worship (Baptist, Universalist, Christian, Congregationalist, and Methodist) promoted this project. Money for this meeting place was raised by selling pews. The pew sales raised a grand total of $2,305.42.
Significant for its rare design and well-preserved detail, it is perhaps the sole surviving example of an early 19th-century 16-sided wooden meetinghouse. Today it is open to the public during the summer and fall foliage seasons (10-4 daily) and is a venue for weddings and community programs.
This building was used for annual Richmond Town Meetings, a Vermont tradition, for 160 consecutive years. In 1973 the state felt it was unsafe for the public and it stood closed for 8 years. Reopened by the Richmond Historical Society in 1981 the restoration cost $180,000.
The Old Round Church celebrated its 200th birthday in August of 2013.